The famous cross country race in thorpe, dovedale since 1953


Alasdair Campbell from Buxton AC is the winner of the Dovedale Dash 2017 in a time
of 28 mins and 25 secs. This was a close race in tough circumstances (lots of mud!). 

Alisdair wins the Izaak Walton Shield. 

Second is Dan Haworth from Matlock AC, winning the Dog and Partridge
Tankard) (28:30), closely followed by 'Dovedale Dash wins' record challenger 
Stuart Bond (28:33). Better luck next time Stuart! But a great race!!


First Lady home and first Under 18 Girl, just like last year, is Elsbeth Grant
from Matlock AC in a time of 32 mins and 13 secs. Elsbeth wins the new Ladies
ladies Under 18 Avanti Jewellers cup. Vicky Wright from Hyde Village striders 
won the Ladies (over 18) category in 35:08 and won the Peveril of the Peak cup.

Second in the Ladies (over 18) category was Caroline Brock from Steel City
striders in 35:40 winning the Cyril Challinor Shield. Alice Crane from Derby Mercury AC was the second Under 18 Girl with
​35:38 mins. 

​First Under 18 boy and sixth overall is Will Tighe from Buxton AC in a time of 29 mins and 48 secs. Will wins the Ian Hall Cup. Second is Jacob Buckley from Buxton AC (31:02).

First Under 14 boy is Patrick Welsh from QEGS in a a time of 31 mins and 53 secs. Patrick was 21st overall! Patrick wins the Mart Cup. Second is Isaac Helps from Chesterfield Athletics (36:42). Lucy Bednall from Buxton AC was the first under 14 girl in a time of 38 mins and 09 secs. Second was Lucy Rathbone from Rushcliffe AC (39:03). 


The Under 18s and Under 14s did again really well this year and ended near the top ! Fantastic, well done !

First over 60 and winner of the Dorris Allen Salver is Kevin Spare from Hatton Darts in a time of 35 mins and 2 secs.


First local Thorpe lady home and winner of the Matthew Parris Cup is Eleanor Wainwright in a time of 37 mins and 43 secs and 4th Lady in the ladies category. First Thorpe man home and winner of the Bluebell Cup is Max Wainwright in a time of 29 mins and 42 seconds and fifth overall. Well done Wainwrights!

In total 1528 people finished the Dovedale Dash this year:
- 759 Men 18-60
- 513 Women 18-60
- 63 Under 18s
- 99 Under 14s
- 95 Over 60s


The Under 10's children's race was won by Alex Currie in 10 mins and 3 secs. Maizie Goddard was the first Under 10's girl. The Under 8's race was won by William Bourne in 13 mins and 32 secs. Chloe Saxtin was the first Under 8's girl.  

Copyright Dovedale Dash. All rights reserved.

This website is maintained by Erwin van Vroenhoven, any questions or comments please email us on

We have used photo's from our old website, if you have an issue with your photo appearing on this website, let me know and I will remove the photo(s)



Preliminary results version 2 (6/11/17)